Jun 21, 2013

Five Outstanding UC Alumni Recognized for Accomplishments

Last weekend, the Kingsgate Marriott was packed full of the University of Cincinnati’s finest alumni, supporters, leaders, faculty, and staff.  They gathered to celebrate the accomplishments of five outstanding alumni for the UC Distinguished Alumni Celebration, which took place Thursday, June 13, 2013.

The annual event is an opportunity to recognize and celebrate the many contributions and overall excellence of UC alumni in countless fields of endeavor throughout the world.  The event recognized five alumni and was hosted by Dan Hoard, radio voice of the Cincinnati Bengals and UC Football and Basketball teams.

Dr. Joseph P. Broderick
Dr. Joseph P. Broderick (Med ’82) was honored with the William Howard Taft Medal for Notable Achievement for his notable achievements in the medical field.  He is one of the world’s foremost researchers, teachers, physicians, and leaders in battling the effects of stroke, and has attracted over $82 million in sponsored research funding over the last 15 years.

Bill Keating, Jr. 
Bill Keating, Jr.  (Bus ’76, Law ’79) was awarded the Alumni Distinguished Service Award for his outstanding, generous contributions to UC.  He compiled a Hall of Fame career through academic and swimming excellence at St. Xavier High School. He was awarded the coveted Jimmy Nippert Award as UC’s outstanding graduating student-athlete.  After graduating from UC Law School, Keating has had a successful career with Keating Muething & Klekamp and dedicates his time and energy to a variety of community causes.

Dr. Jeffrey T. Burgin, Jr.
Dr. Jeffrey T. Burgin, Jr. (A&S ’97) was awarded the UC Alumni Association Mosaic Award for his leadership in our shared community.  He embodied the message of learning, cultural growth, and service to others as his career in higher education has taken him to six universities through the eastern half of the United States.  He credits his time at UC for building  the foundation of his career, which is responsible for uniting diverse groups of students, facilitating multicultural appreciation, and diligently overseeing aspects of student well being.

Dr. Robert A. Coppola
Dr. Robert A. Coppola (CECH ’00) and Robert E. Richardson, Jr. (CEAS ’02, Law ’05) both received the Jeffrey Hurwitz Young Alumni Outstanding Achievement Award for continued service and involvement with UC during significant professional achievement.  All awardees were required to be 35 years or younger and a UC graduate.

Coppola was a Bearcat in both football and baseball, was active in his fraternity, and grew his business All Star Chiropractic in Northern Kentucky to a million-dollar business in just a few years.  He has been involved with a range of philanthropic activities, from holiday gift and food drives to youth mentoring and counseling to volunteer leadership in cancer-fighting fundraising.  His passion for UC continues to show in his support and leadership for a variety of efforts at the university.

Robert E. Richardson, Jr.
Richardson established the first college chapter of the NAACP in the Tristate, was elected Student Body President his senior year, and was consequently awarded the Presidential Leadership Medal of Excellence.  He currently serves Of Counsel with the law firm Branstetter, Stranch and Jennings, PLLC, serves as a Construction Market Representative for the Laborers-Employers Cooperation and Education Trust (LECET) for eight states, including Ohio, and was elected Secretary of his alma mater’s Board of Trustees, becoming its youngest-ever elected officer.

The event had over 20 sponsors and held a full audience, including President Santa Ono.  For more information on the UC Distinguished Alumni Celebration and the awardees, visit the Alumni Association website.

Congratulate these alumni with a comment below!

No comments:

Post a Comment